ARKANSAS – – The Arkansas Legislature is considering a bill that would raise the legal age to use or buy tobacco to 21.
The bill was introduced Monday by Arkansas State Representative Fred Allen.
The four-term Democrat’s proposal would prohibit sale of vapor products, nicotine patches, e-liquid products and rolling papers to anyone under 21.
It would also authorize police or school officers to confiscate tobacco products and a minor could get community service if they’re convicted of a crime and has a tobacco product on them.
Stan Brown doesn’t agree with the new bill saying the age limit is fine where it is at.
“I believe that a person is 18 years old, and they’re in a position that they can serve for our country and willing to put their life on the line for their country for our freedoms and things of that sort, then they should at least have the right to smoke,” Brown said.
The bill would move Arkansas in line with California and Hawaii that have 21-year-old limits.
Chicago and New York City also have similar laws in place.
One in Five US Adults Use Tobacco; Cigarette Smoking Among Adults is Down
Presentation: Resources for Nebraskans Who Want to Quit Using Tobacco Products
Governor Ricketts’ State of the State Address
The Tobacco Conspiracy — Watch Here
Going Smokefree by August 2018: Resources for Implementation
Tobacco Industry to Return to Television to Tell Toll of Tobacco
ACS CAN: Tobacco Products are Cheap, but the Health Costs are High
Tobacco Bills 2017 State Legislative Summary